The governance of the Union alternates every two years between the divisions as described in the Memorandum of Cooperation between the two divisions and the Union's Statutes . Currently, the members of the IUHPST Board are:

President. Marcos CUETO (Brazil; President, DHST)
Vice President. Valentin GORANKO (Sweden; President, DLMPST)
Secretary General. Liesbeth DE MOL (France; Secretary General, DHST)
Treasurer. Milada SEKYRKOVÁ (Czech Republic; Treasurer, DHST)
Additional Members. Eleonora CRESTO (Argentina; Secretary General, DLMPST)
Pierre Édouard BOUR (France; Treasurer, DLMPST)

History. Among the past presidents of the Union were Wilfrid HODGES (DLMPS, United Kingdom, 2010-2011), Liu DUN (DHST, China, 2012-2013), Elliott SOBER (DLMPS/DLMPST, United States of America, 2014-2015), Efthymios NICOLAIDIS (DHST, Greece, 2016-2017), Menachem MAGIDOR (DLMPST, Israel, 2018-2019), Michael OSBORNE (DHST, United States of America, 2020-2021), and Nancy CARTWRIGHT (DLMPST, United Kingdom & United States of America, 2022-2023).